St. Joseph's Catholic College

Governing Body

The Board of Trustee's has a key role to play in helping the College provide the best possible education for all its students.  The School Standards and Framework Act 1998 strengthens that role by giving governing bodies a specific responsibility for helping to raise standards. The governing body meet regularly and review each aspect of the College. This includes students' achievement and progress, teaching and learning, use of resources, and staffing. Committees and panels are formed as required and a finance audit, resources and premises committee meet during the year to specifically review the best use of the money allocated to the College.  The admissions panel meet regularly throughout the year.

The Governors’ vision is that the College, including all the students and staff, are the “best we can be” and more detail on this can be found by following this link.

The membership of the board, the Chairs and Vice Chairs of each committee is shown below.

All communications to the Trustee's should be directed in the first instance to the Clerk. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Members of the Board:

Name Role Type of Governor Term Started Term Expires Attendance 2020-21 Committee Pecuniary interest
Miss Jessica Higgins Chair Foundation 23/03/2021 22/03/2023 21 out of 21 All Child attends the school
Mr Aaron Thornton

Vice Chair

Foundation 21/09/2018   20/09/2022 20 out of 21 Finance, Curriculum and Standards

Spouse an employee

Children attend the College

Mr Kevin Burchall Vice Chair Foundation 21/09/2018 20/09/2022 37 out of 39 Curriculum and Standards Child Attends School
Mrs Kate Innes   Foundation 03/10/2019 02/10/2023 20 out of 23 Admissions, Curriculum and Standards  
Mr Chris Lang Chair of Admissions Panel Foundation 01/08/2019 31/07/2023 37 out of 38 Admissions, Finance Audit Resources and Premises None declared
Mrs Liz Barrett   Foundation 16/10/2019 17/10/2023

8 out of 8 

Resigned 31/12/2020

Curriculum and Standards  
Mr John Moore Vice Chair of the Finance, Audit, Risk and Premises Committee Foundation 21/09/2018 20/09/2022 18 out of 19 Finance Audit Resources and Premises Child Attends School
Mr Michael Sloan   Foundation 18/01/2020 19 January 2024 8 out of 12  

Sloan Ltd 

Dabble Ltd

Repossession Specialists Ltd

Mr Paul Hughes Principal Ex Officio    

Mr Hughes left the governing body 31/8/21

40 out of 41

Mr Mark Fleet   Staff 01/10/2020

Start Date: 01/10/2020

Finish Date: 30/09/2024

17 out of 18 Finance Audit Resources and Premises

Freelance event technician

Mrs Marie Temple-Richmond   Staff 02/07/2019 01/07/2023 10 out of 11    
Miss Lauren White   Staff 01/10/2020 30/09/2024 12 out of 12 Curriculum and Standards

Director of not for profit

Trustee of a charity

Ms Rachael Mayne Chair of the Finance, Audit, Risk and Premises Committee Foundation 06/10/2020 05/10/2024 13 out of 15 Finance Audit Resources and Premises Director of Company
Canon John Cunningham Chair of Governors Foundation   Resigned as of 25 Feb 2020 6 out of 9 All


Director of Holy Cross Catholic Primary School

Diocesan Trustee

Mr Jerry Giles Co-Principal Ex-Officio     17 out of 19 All  
Mrs Helen Peace Co-Principal Ex-Officio     19 out of 19 All Spouse an employee


The Diocese of Clifton appoints the foundation governors. Staff and parent governors are selected following the process as recommended by the National Governors Association and Department for Education which is then ratified by the governing body. Unless otherwise noted, each Governor serves a term of four years.

Designated Safeguarding Lead: Kathryn Sanders
Designated Senior Manager for Allegations & lead contact for Public & Parents: Helen Peace
Link Governor for Safeguarding & Child Protection: Miss Jessica Higgins

All foundation governors are appointed by Bishop Declan of the Clifton Diocese, staff governors are appointed by election, parent governors are appointed by election and the one additional governor is appointment by the Governing Body as a whole.

The Chair of the Board is Jessica Higgins who can be contacted at the College address or via the clerk. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For a description of the Governing Body's activities, please click here

For a summary of Governing Body meetings, please click on the month below