St. Joseph's Catholic College

Governing Body

The Board of Trustee's has a key role to play in helping the College provide the best possible education for all its students.  The School Standards and Framework Act 1998 strengthens that role by giving governing bodies a specific responsibility for helping to raise standards. The governing body meet regularly and review each aspect of the College. This includes students' achievement and progress, teaching and learning, use of resources, and staffing. Committees and panels are formed as required and a finance audit, resources and premises committee meet during the year to specifically review the best use of the money allocated to the College.  The admissions panel meet regularly throughout the year.

The Governors’ vision is that the College including all the students and staff are the “best we can be” and more detail on this can be found by following this link.

The membership of the board, the Chairs and Vice Chairs of each committee is shown below.

All communications to the Trustee's should be directed in the first instance to the Clerk, Michelle Ferris. Her email address is This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Members of the Board

Name Role Type of Governor Term Expires Attendance 2019-20 Committee's Pecuniary interest
Canon John Cunningham

Chair of Governors

Foundation Resigned as of 25 Feb 2020 6 out of 9 All


Director of Holy Cross Catholic Primary School

Diocesan Trustee

Miss Jessica Higgins   Parent 17 December 2023 8 out of 9   Child attends the school
Mr Michael Sloan   Foundation 19 January 2024 4 out of 8  

Sloan Ltd 

Dabble Ltd

Repossession Specialists Ltd

Mrs Liz Barrett


Foundation 17/10/2023 14 out of 14  n/a

Mr Aaron Thornton


Chair of Finance Committee

Foundation 20/09/2022 18 out of 18  

Wife an employee

Children attend the College

Mr Chris Lang Chair of Admissions Panel Foundation 31/07/2023 38 out of 41 Admissions, finance audit resources and Premises None Declared
Mr Paul Hughes Executive Principal E Officio   41 out of 41 All  
Mr Mark Fleet Staff Governor Staff 30/09/2020 15 out of 19  

Freelance event technician

Mrs Marie Temple-Richmond Staff Governor Staff 01/07/2023 12 out of 15    
Mr John Moore Vice Chair of Finance Committee Foundation 20/09/2022 17 out of 18   Child Attends School
Mr Kevin Burchall Vice Chair Foundation 20/09/2022 37 out of 39   Child Attends School
Mrs Kate Innes Vice Chair Foundation 02/10/2023 11 out of 13    
Mr Tony Matthews Vice Chair Foundation 31/07/2019 10 out of 12 n/a  


The Diocese of Clifton appoints the foundation governors. Staff and parent governors are selected following the process as recommended by the national governors association and Department for Education which is then ratified by the governing body. Unless otherwise noted, each Governor servers a term of four years.

Designated Safeguarding Lead: Adrian Stoten
Designated Senior Manager for Allegations & lead contact for Public & Parents: Helen Peace
Link Governor for Safeguarding & Child Protection: Miss Jessica Higgins.

All foundation governors are appointed by Bishop Declan of the Clifton Diocese, staff governors are appointed by election, parent governors are appointed by election and the one additional governor is appointment by the Governing Body as a whole.

The Chair of the Board is Aaron Thornton who can be contacted at the College address or via the clerk.

For a description of the governing body's activities, please click here

For a summary of governing body meetings, please click on the month below